Archdiocese of Patna

Archbishop D’Souza, S.J

  • share this post
  • Share on facebook
  • resize textlarger | smaller

Archbishop William D’Souza, S.J

Archbishop's House Bankipur, Patna 800 004, Bihar, India.

(91) 94316 23738

Fax :(91) 612-2301816,

Archbishop William D’Souza, S.J, was born on Mar. 5, 1946, ordained priest in 1976 after completing Philosophy in Shembanagur in Tamil Nadu and theology in Jnana Deepa Vidyapeet in Pune. He consecrated Bishop on March 25, 2006, and was appointed Bishop of the newly erected diocese of Buxar on Dec. 12, 2005. He was assistant Novice Master, superior of Jesuit communities in various places, Rector of the Minor Seminary in Muzaffarpur, parish priest in several parishes, secretary to the Bishop of Muzaffarpur and Provincial of the Patna Jesuit Province. Pope Benedict XVI appointed him as the archbishop of Patna on Oct. 01, 2007

Previous Ordinaries:

  • Archbishop Benedict John Osta (1980 – 2007)
  • Bishop Augustine F. Wildermuth, SJ. (1947-1980)
  • Bishop Bernard Sullivan, S.J. (1929-1946)
  • Bishop Louis Van Hoeck, S.J. (1921-1928)
  • Father Francis Pesci, OFM Capuchin (1881-1896)
  • Father Paul Tossi, OFM Capuchin (1868-1880)
  • Father Anastasius Hartmann, OFM Capuchin (1860-1866)
  • Father Anastasius Zuber, OFM Capuchin (1853-1858)
  • Father Anastasius Hartmann, OFM Capuchin (1845-1853)