Archdiocese of Raipur

Archbishop Thakur

  • share this post
  • Share on facebook
  • resize textlarger | smaller

Archbishop Victor Henry Thakur

Khristbandhu Nivas, Byron Bazar, Raipur-492001, Chhattisgarh, India

0771 4052 429

Fax :4052.429,

Archbishop Victor Henry Thakur was born on July 1, 1954, in Chakhani, West Champaran district, Bihar state. He was ordained a priest on May 3, 1984, and served as chancellor of the Diocese of Raipur in the central Indian state of Chhattisgarh and secretary to the Raipur bishop before being appointed Bishop of Bettiah on June 27, 1998. His episcopal ordination followed on Nov. 11, 1998. Bishop Thakur chairs the Education Commission of the Bijhar Regional Council of Bishops. He was appointed as the archbishop of Raipur on June 3, 2013 and was installed archbishop of Raipur on Sept. 19, 2013.

Previous Ordinaries:

  • Bishop Philip Ekka, SJ (1985-1991)
  • Archbishop Joseph Augustine Charanakunnel (1975-2013)
  • Monsignor Francis Werner Hunold, Apostolic Administrator (1974-1983)
  • Monsignor John Weidner, Apostolic Administrator (1964-1974)