Archdiocese of Ha Noi

Bishop Chu

  • share this post
  • resize textlarger | smaller

Auxiliary Bishop Laurence Van Minh Chu

St Joseph Major Seminary, 40 Nha Chung, Ha Noi, Vietnam

+84 4 3928 6416

Fax :-

Auxiliary Bishop Laurence Chu Van Minh was born on Dec. 27, 1943 in Nam Dinh city. After he studied at St John Minor Seminary in Ha Noi from 1956-1960, he lived with his family, served his home parish of Nam Dinh and worked as a barber for a living until 1992, when he was sent to study theology and philosophy at St Joseph Major Seminary in Ha Noi. He was ordained a priest on June 10, 1994 and furthered his studies at the Pontifical Urbaniana University in Rome and obtained a doctorate in moral theology. After he returned to Vietnam in 2001, he taught at the major seminary and served as a member of the archdiocesan advisory council. Pope Benedict XVI appointed him auxiliary bishop of Ha Noi on Oct. 15, 2008 and his episcopal ordination was on Dec. 5 that year.

Bishop Minh serves as rector of St Joseph Major Seminary. Except his native language, he speaks English, French and Latin.

Previous Ordinaries:

  • Archbishop Joseph Ngo Quang Kiet (2003-2010)
  • Bishop Paul Le Dac Trong (1994-2006)
  • Cardinal Archbishop Paul Joseph Pham Dinh Tung (1990-2003)
  • Auxiliary Bishop Francis Xavier Nguyen Van Sang (1981-1990)
  • Cardinal Joseph Marie Trinh Van Can (1963-1990)
  • Cardinal Joseph Marie Trinh Nhu Khue (1950-1978)
  • Bishop Francois Chaize Thinh, MEP (1935-1949)
  • Bishop Pierre Jean Marie Gendreau Dong, MEP (1892-1935)
  • Bishop Paul Francois Puginier Phuoc, MEP (1868-1892)
  • Bishop Joseph Simon Theurel Chieu, MEP (1866-1868)
  • Bishop Charles Hubert Jeantet Khiem, MEP (1858-1866)
  • Bishop Pierre André Retord Lieu, MEP (1840-1858)
  • Bishop Pierre Borie Cao, MEP (1838)
  • Bishop Joseph Marie Havard Giu, MEP (1831-1838)
  • Bishop Jean Jacques Guérard Doan, MEP (1816-1823)
  • Bishop Charles La Mothe Hau I, MEP (1796-1816)
  • Bishop Jacques Benjamin Longer, MEP (1789-1831)
  • Bishop Jean Davoust, MEP (1780-1789)
  • Bishop Bertrand Reydellet Be, MEP (1764-1780)
  • Bishop Edmond Bennetat, MEP (1758)
  • Bishop Louis-Marie Deveaux, MEP (1746-1756)
  • Bishop Louis Néez, MEP (1738-1764)
  • Bishop Louis Néez, MEP (1723-1738)
  • Bishop Francois Gabriel Guisain, MEP (1718-1723)
  • Bishop Louis Néez, MEP ()
  • Bishop Edme Bélot, MEP (1714-1717)
  • Bishop Jacques de Bourges, MEP (1679-1714)
  • Bishop Francois Pallu, MEP (1659-1679)