Diocese of Myitkyina

Bishop Daw Tang

  • share this post
  • Share on facebook
  • resize textlarger | smaller

Bishop Francis Daw Tang

St. Columban's Cathedral, Aungnan Yeiktha, Myitkyina, Myanmar 01011

(95) 74-23016

Fax :(95) 74-23016

fdawtang08@gmail.com, myitkyinabishop@gmail.com

Bishop Francis Daw Tang was born on Dec. 19, 1949, in Bum Dum village, Panghkak parish. He was ordained a deacon on Dec. 4, 1979, in St. Joseph Catholic Major Seminary, Yangon. He was ordained a priest on March 25, 1979, at Pangkak parish, by Bishop Paul Zinghtung Grawng. He then served in Nanghling parish for 14 years. From 1993 to 2002, he was Phakant parish priest. On April 11, 2002, he was episcopally ordained and served as Auxiliary Bishop of Myitkyina. He was appointed Apostolic Administrator of Myitkyina diocese indefinitely on June 11, 2003. On Dec. 3, 2004, Pope John Paul II appointed him Bishop of Myitkyina. Bishop Francis Daw Tang is chairman of the Episcopal Commission for Laity and a member of the Philosophate of Episcopal Commission for Seminaries.

Previous Ordinaries:

  • Auxiliary Bishop Philip Lasap Za Hawng (1994-1998)
  • Bishop Paul Zinghtung Grawng (1976-2003)