Diocese of Kandy

Bishop Fernando

  • share this post
  • resize textlarger | smaller

Bishop Joseph Vianney Fernando

Bishop's House, 873, Peradeniya Road, Kandy, Sri Lanka

+94 81-222300, 4471859

Fax :+94 81-2222300


Bishop Joseph Vianney Fernando was born on Aug. 6, 1942 at Minuwangoda, in the archdiocese of Colombo . He was ordained a priest on Dec. 21, 1966 and his Episcopal ordination was on May 21, 1983. Bishop Vianney received his education at St. Sylvester College, Kandy and followed his higher education at the University of St. Paul's Ottawa Canada in 1977 and got the B.A. of the University of Peradeniya in 1973.

Bishop Vianney was the President of the Catholic Bishop's Conference in Sri Lanka and chairman for the Joseph Vaz Secretariate as well as vice-chairman for the catholic commission for missionary activity. He was the chairman of Caritas Sri Lanka from 2001 to 2003.

He was the President of Catholic Bishop's Conference of Sri Lanka 1995 to 1998, 2004 to 2010 and President of Caritas Asia. Further, he served as executive chairman of Federation of Asian Bishops' Conference for human development from 1995 to 1999, member of the Pre-Synodal Council, Synod, and Post Synodal Council of the special Synod of Bishops for Asia from 1995 to date and was a member of the Pontifical Council "Cor Unum" from 1980 to 1989. Since 1995 to date, he is a member of the Pontifical Council for Inter Religious Dialogue, the Commission for Emergency Relief and Refugees as well as the Catholic Commission for the National Social Cooperation.

Diocese website: http/www.kandydiocese.com

Previous Ordinaries:

  • Bishop Appasinghe Paul Perera (1973 – 1983)
  • Bishop Leo Nanayakkara, O.S.B (1959 – 1972)
  • Bishop Bernardo Regno, O.S.B (1936 – 1958)
  • Bishop Bede Beekmeyer, O.S.B (1912 – 1935)
  • Bishop Clemente Pagnani O.S.B (1883 – 1911)