Diocese of Dindigul

Bishop Paulsamy

  • share this post
  • Share on facebook
  • resize textlarger | smaller

Bishop Thomas Paulsamy

Bishop's House, P.O. Box 6, Mullipadi P.O., B.K. Pudur SO, Dindigul-624005, Tamil Nadu, India


Fax :241.15.65

dgldiocese@yahoo.co.in, vgks2006@yahoo.co.in

Pope Francis has appointed Rev. P. Thomas Paulsamy as the new bishop of Dindigul, in the southern Tamil Nadu state, making it a suffragan of Madurai Metropolitan Archdiocese.
This ecclesiastical provision was made public in Rome on 11th April, 2016.
Bishop Thomas Paulsamy was born in N. Poolampatty, in the Diocese of Tiruchirapalli, on 2nd August, 1951. He completed his Philosophical and Theological studies at St. Paul’s Seminary in Tiruchirapalli, and was ordained a Priest on 25th May, 1977, for the Diocese of Tiruchirapalli. He has exercised his priestly ministry in the following assignments: Assistant Parish Priest of St. Mary’s Cathedral in Melapudur, Tiruchirapalli (1977-1979); Assistant Parish Priest of Seven Dolours Church in Palaiyakoil, Tiruchirapalli (1979-1980); Parish Priest of St. Aloysius Church in Kosavapatty, Dindigul (1980-1985); Parish Priest of Church of St. Joseph the Worker in Kailasapuram, Tiruchirapalli (1985-1986); Parish Priest and Vicar Forane of St. Joseph’s Church in Dindigul (1986-1992); sabbatical year in the United States, with studies at the Maryknoll School of Theology in New York (1992-1993); Parish Priest of St. Francis Xavier Church in Malayadipatti, Tiruchirapalli (1993-1995); Parish Priest of Holy Redeemer’s Basilica in Palakarai, Tiruchirapalli (1995-2002); Parish Priest of St. Mary’s Cathedral in Melapudur, Tiruchirapalli (2002-2004); Parish Priest of Our Lady of Dolours Church in Nanjur, Pudukottai (2004-2005); Parish Priest of Our Lady of Fatima Church in Fathimanagar, Tiruchirappalli (2005-2007); Vicar General of the Diocese of Tiruchirappalli (2007-2015). From 2015 until now, he has been Parish Priest of St. Anthony’s Church in Kallukuzhy, Member of the College of Consultors and Director of the Franciscan Sisters of St. Thomas.

Previous Ordinaries: