Diocese of Kurunegala

Bishop Perera

  • share this post
  • Share on facebook
  • resize textlarger | smaller

Bishop Harold Anthony Perera

Catholic Bishop's House, 409, Negombo Road, Malkaduwawa, Kurunegala, Sri Lanka

(94) 37-2222854, Direct: (94) 37-2224935

Fax :(94) 37-2224935


Bishop Harold Anthony Perera was born on June 9, 1951, at Weliketiya, Pamunugama in the Archdiocese of Colombo. He was ordained a priest on July 5, 1980, and appointed Bishop of Ratnapura on Jan. 18, 2003. His episcopal ordination was on March 18, 2003, at St. Lucia's Cathedral in Colombo. He was transferred to Galle diocese for tsunami relief on March 8, 2005, and became Bishop of Galle. Galle diocese was the worst affected by the tsunami disaster of December 2004. Later, Pope Benedict XVI named him Apostolic Administrator of Ratnapura diocese on July 6, 2006. The bishop was caring for both dioceses due to a leadership vacancy at Ratnapura diocese. On May 14, 2009, Bishop Perera was appointed Bishop of Kurunegala and was installed there on July 11, 2009.

Bishop Perera is the Chairman of the National Commission for Justice, Peace and Human Development in the Catholic Bishops' Conference of Sri Lanka. He was the first director of the national seminary's philosophate and former director of the Pontifical Mission Societies (2000-2001).

Previous Ordinaries:

  • Anthony Leopold Raymond Peiris (1987 - 2009 Retired)