Diocese of Hunan

Bishop Qu

  • share this post
  • Share on facebook
  • resize textlarger | smaller

Bishop Methodius Ailin Qu

8 Xiangchun Lane, Kaifu District, Changsha City, Hunan Province, China, Postal Code: 410008

+86-731-84316898, +86-731-84310362

Fax :-


Bishop Methodius Qu Ailin was born in 1961 and was ordained a priest of neighboring Hengyang diocese, also in Hunan province, in 1995. Becoming a bishop candidate in 2011, Bishop Qu is approved by the Vatican and recognized by the Chinese government.

The province of Hunan has four dioceses and five apostolic prefectures, according to the Vatican. The government-sanctioned "open" Church authorities restructured them into six dioceses in 1991 and later merged them into Hunan diocese in 1999.

Since these administrative changes were not recognized by the Vatican, Bishop Qu is recognized officially by the Holy See as the ordinary of Changsha. But he was also appointed as the apostolic administrator of all other ecclesiastical territories in the province, namely Baoqing, Changde, Hengzhou, Lizhou, Xiangtan, Yuanling, Yongzhou and Yuezhou.

Previous Ordinaries:

  • Bishop Simon Qu Tianxi (1987-2000)
  • Xiong Delian (consecrated in 1958)
  • Archbishop Petronio Secundo Lacchio, O.F.M. (1946-1976)