Diocese of Chikmagalur

Bishop Thomasappa

  • share this post
  • Share on facebook
  • resize textlarger | smaller

Bishop Anthony Swamy Thomasappa

Bishop's House, Jyothi Nilaya, Jyothinagar, Chikmagalur, Karnataka - 577 102, India

+91-8262 - 220389 (o), +91- 8262 - 221689 (p)

Fax :+91- 8262 - 220389

bishopckm@yahoo.co.in / anthaswam@yahoo.co.in (personal)

Bishop T. Anthony Swamy was born on Feb. 9, 1951, in Mariannapalaya, a village parish of Bangalore Archdiocese, and did his seminary formation at St. Joseph's Pontifical Institute in Bangalore. He was ordained a priest for the archdiocese on May 20, 1984. He served as a parish priest and, after earning his doctorate in Missiology from Pontifical Gregorian University in Rome, taught at St. Peter's Pontifical Seminary in Bangalore. He was appointed Bishop of Chikmagalur on Dec. 2, 2006, and was ordained bishop on Feb. 6, 2007. The Karnataka state diocese belongs to the ecclesiastical province headed by Bangalore Archdiocese.

Previous Ordinaries:

  • Bishop John Baptist Sequeira (1987-2006)
  • Bishop Alphonsus Mathias (1964-86)