Diocese of Dinajpur

Bishop Tudu

  • share this post
  • resize textlarger | smaller

Bishop Sebastian Tudu

Bishop's House, Kosba, P.O. Box – 5, Dinajpur – 5200

+88-0531 65669, +88-0531 65810 mobile: +88 01732582509

Fax :+88-0531 51496


Bishop Sebastian Tudu was born on 17 June, 1967 at Changura village of northwestern Gaibandha district. His priestly ordination took place on 30 December, 1999 at Mariampur parish in Dinajpur. Pope Benedict XVI appointed him as Bishop of Dinajpur on 29 October, 2011; his Episcopal ordination at Dinajpur was on 27 January, 2012. Bishop Tudu is the first local bishop in the predominantly tribal diocese, and also the first bishop from tribal Santal community.

Previous Ordinaries:

  • Bishop Moses M. Costa, CSC (1996-2011)
  • Bishop Theotonius Gomes, CSC (1978-1996)
  • Bishop Michael Rozario (1968-1978)
  • Bishop Joseph Obert, PIME (1948-1968)
  • Bishop John Baptist Anselmo, PIME (1928-1947)
  • Bishop Santino Taveggia, PIME (1927-1928)
  • Bishop of Krishnagar (1906-1927)

Islamic State claims attack on Italian priest in Bangladesh

Islamic State claims attack on Italian priest in Bangladesh “Piero Parolari is 3rd foreigner to be claimed by ISIS in Bangladesh since September 29, making the country hot spot for such attacks,” Rita Katz said.