Diocese of Ankang

Bishop Ye

  • share this post
  • Share on facebook
  • resize textlarger | smaller

Bishop John Baptist Ronghua Ye

Ankang Church, Jinyin Lane, Ankang city, Shaanxi province, China [725000]


Fax :--


Bishop John Baptist Ye Ronghua of Ankang, in the northwestern part of Shaanxi province was born in 1931, in Hanzhong. He graduated in 1958 from the major seminary in Kaifeng, Henan province, central China. He returned to Hanzhong that same year to escape political movements that had targeted the Church. He was ordained a priest in 1982, after religions were allowed to revive. Bishop Anthony Li Du'an of Xi'an had him serve in Ankang as the diocesan administrator from 1987 to 2000. His episcopal ordination was on Dec. 10, 2000. The ordination was presided over by Bishop Anthony Li Du'an of Xi'an, assisted by Bishops Louis Yu Runchen of Hanzhong and Joseph Zong Huaide of Sanyuan. All three bishops are from Shaanxi.

Bishop Ye Ronghua is the first Chinese Bishop of the Diocese of Ankang, since it was established as an apostolic prefecture in 1928. Though the government-approved "open" Church in China regards Ankang as a diocese, the Holy See categorizes the territory as the apostolic prefecture of Hinganfu (Ankang)

Previous Ordinaries:

  • Pietro Maleddu, O.F.M. Conv (Prefect: 1948 - 1983)
  • Emilio Favarato, O.F.M. Conv (Prefect: 1941 - 1947)
  • erardo Barracciu, O.F.M. Conv (Prefect: 1932 - 1940)
  • Giovanni Soggiu, O.F.M. Conv (Prefect: 1928 - 1930)