Diocese of Hainan
  • share this post
  • resize textlarger | smaller

Hainan province is located in the southern most of China. The main island is 3.39 square kilometers in area. The main ethnic groups are Han, Li, Miao and Hui, which have lived in the place for generations.

Haikou in the north is the provincial capital while Sanya in the south is the most famous resort area in the island. Since 2001, the annual conference of the Boao Forum for Asia has also made Boao in the eastern coastal Qionghai city a well-known place for many.

St. Teresa's Church in Ding'an county is the oldest church on the island. It was built in 1892 by the French missionaries. It is now becoming an attraction to foreign and local visitors to make pilgrimage there each year.

Apostolic prefecture of Hainan

  • Detached from Apostolic Vicariate of Pakhoi (Beihai) in April 1929
  • Functions as Mission Independent 1929-1936
  • Remains apostolic prefecture since 1946

    According to the papal year book Annuario Pontificio 2006, Hainan is listed as apostolic prefecture. Chinese government has named it a diocese. 



Mission dedicates a year to promote Bible reading in families

Mission dedicates a year to promote Bible reading in families The missions’ efforts to spread Biblical knowledge in mainland China, named ‘transmission of the Holy Scriptures in the family’, will go on till 2015 June 30.