Diocese of Eluru
  • share this post
  • Share on facebook
  • resize textlarger | smaller

The Diocese of Eluru was bifurcated from the Diocese of Vijayawada on Feb. 26, 1977. It consists of the civil district of West. Godavari and four mandals of Konaseema in East. Godavari district. The diocese has faces the Bay of Bengal in the south, the river Godavari in the east, the Diocese of Vijayawada in the west, and the Diocese of Khammam in the north.


In Eluru diocese, the total population was 8,769,739 as of end 2005.


The main language is Telugu. There are also tribal dialects like Kui of the Koyas. The predominant tribal group in the region are the Koyas.


The two major parties are the Indian National Congress and Telugu Desam Party. There are two ministers in the State Cabinet and one in the Federal Cabinet. A former Speaker of the Lok Sabha (Lower House in Parliament), G.M.C. Balayogi, came from East. Godavari District.


Transportation infrastructure and facilities in cities and towns are good, but infrequent and poor in villages. The general means of transportation are public buses and railways. Autorikshaws and cars are available mostly in cities and towns.


The diocesan territory stretches over 10,755 square kilometers and covers the civil district of West. Godavari and four mandals (administrative areas) of the district of East. Godavari. (There are 60 mandals in East. Godavari district.)


The per capita income of the diocesan territory is 12,929 rupees (US$278 as of February 2007). There are no major industries in the area. The main crops are paddy, tobacco, sugarcane and chilies. Coconuts are also grown in the region.


Telecommunication services are widespread. There are no TV or radio stations in the region.


Popular art forms like Burra Katha and various forms of dances are attractions at major festivals. Tribal dances are also popular.