Archdiocese of Tuguegarao
  • share this post
  • Share on facebook
  • resize textlarger | smaller

In a land area of 9,000.7 square kilometers, the diocesan territory covers the civil Province of Cagayan North including the islands of Fuga, Calayan, Camiguin, Dalupiri and Babuyan Claro. The archdiocese is suffragans of the Dioceses of Bayombong and Ilagan and the Vicariate of Tabuk. 

Cagayan is a province of the Philippines in the Cagayan Valley region in Luzon. Its capital is Tuguegarao City and is located at the northeastern corner of the island of Luzon. Cagayan also includes the Babuyan Islands to the north. The province borders Ilocos Norte and Apayao to the west, and Kalinga and Isabela to the south. 

Cagayan has 28 municipalities and one city divided into three congressional districts. It has 820 barangays (villages). Tuguegarao City (as of Dec. 18, 1999) is the provincial capital, regional seat, and center of business, trade, and education.


As of end of 2009, the total population of the Archdiocese of Tuguegarao is 1,358,402 of which 80 percent are Catholics.

Originally, the more numerous group were the Ibanags. This is why the Ibanag language spread throughout the area prior to the arrival of Ilocanos. Aside fromIlocanos and IbanagsMalauegs, Itawits, Gaddangs, groups of nomadicAetas, as well as families of Ibatans who have assimilated into the Ibanag-Ilocano culture make Cagayan their home. In addition to this, Tagalog-speaking people from the Southern Luzon have also settled in the area. Because of this influence from other majority groups like the Ilocano from the west and the Tagalog from the south, the smaller ethnic groups living in the valley could potentially go extinct.


Languages used in the territory are: Ilokano, Ibanag, Itawis, Malaweg other ethnic groups that migrated to the province speak their own dialects. Most of the people in places where literacy is high speak and understand English and Pilipino.


(Archidiocesis Tuguegaraona)

Created Diocese: April 10, 1910
Elevated to Archdiocese: Sept. 21, 1974
Comprises: The civil Province of Cagayan North including the islands of Fuga, Calayan, Camiguin, Dalupiri and Babuyan Claro
Suffragans: Dioceses of Bayombong and Ilagan and the Vicariate of Tabuk
Titular: St. Peter (June 29)

The Archdiocese of Tuguegarao comprises the civil province of Cagayan, except the island municipality of Calayan which belongs to the Prelature of Batanes- Babuyanes.

The three provinces of Cagayan, Isabela and Nueva Vizcaya were once combined and referred to as the Cagayan valley.

In 1910 the See of Tuguegarao was created, assigning it as a suffragan to the Metropolitan See of Nueva Segovia. Bishop Maurice Foley, an American was the first Ordinary. After Bishop Foley, Santiago Sancho was named Bishop of Tuguegarao. After his transfer in 1927, Monsignor Hilario Jamias administered to the diocese until Bishop Constace Jurgens, CICM, a well-loved Dutchman became residential bishop in 1929.

Originally the Metropolitan Province of Tuguegarao had as suffragans the Diocese of Ilagan, the Diocese of Bayombong, the Prelature of Batanes-Babuyanes and the Vicariate of Tabuk. On Nov. 30, 1950, the Prelature of Batanes-Babuyanes was separated from the Jurisdiction of the then Diocese of Tuguegarao. In 1970 Ilagan became a diocese, and in 1982 the Prelature of Bayombong was elected elevated to a diocese.

Brief History of Cagayan
Present day chroniclers say that the name was derived from the word "tagay," a kind of plant that grows abundantly in the northern part of the province. Thus, "Catagayan" which means a place where the tagay grows abundantly was shortened to "Cagayan," the present name of the province. 


A Philippine province is headed by a Governor. A Provincial Council (Sangguniang Panlalawigan) is composed of a Vice Governor (Presiding Officer) and Provincial Board Members. A Philippine city or municipality is headed by a Mayor. A City Council(Sangguniang Panlungsod) or Municipal Council (Sangguniang Bayan) is composed of a Vice Mayor (Presiding Officer) and City or Municipal Councilors. A barangay is headed by a Barangay Captain, who is also the presiding officer of the barangay council. The Barangay Council is composed of seven (7) Barangay Kagawads. A similar unit called a Youth Council(Sangguniang Kabataan) is headed by an SK Chairperson with a similar rank to a Barangay Captain. The council is composed of SK Members.


Getting around Province of Cagayan:
Walking, driving, airport transport, taxi and tricycle.

  • Port
    Port Irene is a cargo port located inside the Cagayan Special Economic Zone and Free Port (CSEZFP) in Santa Ana town.

  • Airport
    The Northern Cagayan International Airport is a planned airport in Lal-Lo, Cagayan. The airport will be built to support the Cagayan Special Economic Zone in northern Cagayan, which also serves seaborne traffic through Port Irene.

    The airport project will involve the construction of a 2,200-meter runway, with a width of 45 meters, following the standards of the International Civil Aviation Organization. Once completed, the planned international airport can accommodate large aircraft such as Airbus A319-100 and Boeing regional jets of comparable size.

  • Bridge
    The Buntun Bridge is 2.50 kilometers from Tuguegarao City proper. It is the second longest bridge in the country and offers an unobstructed view of the majestic Cagayan River. This 1.098 km-long bridge links Tuguegarao City to the 2nd and 3rd District Municipalities of Cagayan Province and the Apayao Province.



Annual per capita income (in Philipines Pesos) 22,507 (USD514 as of February 2011).

  • Major industries
    Agricultural products are rice, corn, peanut, beans, and fruits. Livestock products include cattle, hogs, carabaos, and poultry. Fishing various species of fish from the coastal towns is also undertaken. Woodcraft furniture made of hardwood, rattan, bamboo, and other indigenous materials are also available in the province.


Telecommunications services provided by the Philippine Long Distance Telephone Co. (PLDT), Smart Communications Inc., Globe Telecommunications and RCPI Bayantel in Cagayan province

There are eight (8) TV stations in the territory owned and operated by: ABS-CBN Broadcasting Corporation, GMA Network, Rajah Broadcasting Network, Quality Television and ACQ-Kingdom Broadcasting Network.
The territory also has 6 AM stations and 11 FM radio stations.


Literacy rate (simple literacy) is 91.40 percent in the diocesan territory.


  • Piat Sambali Festival (June 23-30) & Feast of Nuestra Señora de Piat 
    The Sambali festival therefore, is a weeklong celebration in honor of the Lady of Piat reliving her intercession in the conversion of aggressive tribes to the Catholic faith.

  • The Feast Day of Our Lady of the Holy Rosary of Piat follows the festival on July 1-2.

  • Ibanag Festival
    The Ibanag Festival which is participated by schools, barangays and NGOs performing Ibanag songs and dances; and the Ibanag epic showcasing the Ibanag culture.

  • Pav-vurulun Festival
    Pav-vurulun Festival is celebrated from August 10-16. Pav-vurulun is an Ibanag word which means get-together or a sense of belongingness. It is in this context that Tuguegarao City annually celebrates its patronal fiesta. It gathers Tuguegaraoeños to a weeklong festivities culminating with a mass and procession of the patron saint on August 16. The patronal fiesta is in honor of St. Hyacinth, the city's patron saint. The week-long celebration is dubbed as a festival of activities. It is marked by parades, beauty contest, pancit eating contest, street dancing contest from the different schools of the city, music festival, sports fest, and trade fairs among others.