Diocese of Nakhon Sawan
  • share this post
  • Share on facebook
  • resize textlarger | smaller

The Diocese of Nakhon Sawan was created on Feb. 25, 1967, after it was carved out from the Archdiocese of Bangkok. It consists of 13 provinces: Nakhon Sawan, Saraburi, Lop Buri, Kamphaeng Phet, Phitsanulok, Chai Nat, Tak, Phetchabun, Sing Buri, Phichit, Sukhothai, Uttaradit and Uthai Thani. The total population of the area is 8,272,430. The government encourages couples to have small families of two children.

Since the creation of the diocese 39 years ago, the work of the diocese has progressed steady. Apart from its parishes and schools in all 13 provinces, the diocese is expanding its social welfare and developmental work for tribal people.

About 88 percent of the Catholics in the diocese practice their faith regularly. In some communities, where priests are not available to celebrate Sunday Masses, catechists or community chiefs preside over the Liturgy of the Word. 

The website of Nakhon Sawan Diocese is available (only in Thai) at:www.nsdiocese.com